Coláiste Dún Iascaigh Chess Champions

Coláiste Dún Iascaigh Chess
Wednesday 29th March saw 18 students from CDI travelling to Rathkeale Hotel in Co. Limerick for the Munster finals of ChessZ competition. We entered four teams in the competition and the students were delighted to have their chess skills challenged over six rounds of Swiss Pairings. There were more than seventy students representing schools from as nearby as Croom, Co. Limerick and as far away as De La Salle in Waterford. Colaiste Dun Iascaigh, Cahir and CBS High School, Clonmel were the Tipperary schools present.
At the close of play Colaiste Dun Iascaigh had performed brilliantly. Our Girls Team of Becca English, Erin O’ Looney, Ava Fogarty and Michaela Fogarty won their section. Caoimhe Egan and Becca English had to have a play off because both had ended with equal highest number of wins. Caoimhe eventually won that play off but Becca pushed her all the way. To have Coláiste girls in both first and second place in the overall standings was a huge result.
Our A team were ahead at the half way mark with the B and C teams coming third and fourth but at the end the A team lost out to De La Salle by half a point! Well done to the A team of James Glavin, Erikas Menkevicius , Domentas Girskis and Linas Jablonskis
Our B and C teams were not far down the order of merit either so congratulations and well done to all those who played. Each of you, including the first year beginners, played well and were a credit to the Colaiste.  The full list of those who played, apart from the above include;
Alan Edwards, Evan Glavin, Keane O’ Donoghue, Ruben Ungurean, Jay Green Lee, Paul Ungurean, Kian Green Lee, Simon Ungurean, Nathan Coffey